Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How’s it going guys 1st post on these forums looking to join the subie fam... I purchased a 2002 wrx bugeye... 96k on body apparently 55k on motor no paperwork but came from a local garage /dealer..

I paid 4300 which seems like a steal considering the tires are basically new and he gave me a set of stock rims/ tires as well.
Mods are full turbo back exhaust *unamed but sounds amazing lol..
Downpipe is stock
Hyper flow air intake
Hks BOV
Manual boost controller

I’m no professional when it comes to cars in general but I’d love to learn from you guys l... I’m Slumped on $$ currently from buying this car but I plan on keeping it a DD and just roughly looking to get around 250/300Whp...

The guy that I bought the car from said the boost is turned all the way down on the MBC I’m reading 6-7psi which still really kicks ... but I know these cars run 13/14.5 stock so my question is where should I start.... my buddy says it smells sort of rich but that’s always better then lean. The motor feels solid and idles 0.5rpm and starts on a dime every morning.

I had the car roughly 2 weeks and just wondering what you guys would recommend

As in should I get an Accessport eventually or a pro tune... I’m going to need a AFR gauge and I’m sure I’ll go away with the MBC and go EBCS ... i have paper work for new turbo * stock and Master clutch 3K miles old...

I try to stay off the boost cause it’s not tuned and I don’t know if it will hurt anything... you figure it wouldn’t since it’s 7lbs.... any opinions

Sorry for long post but just figuring what you guys would recommend for step #1

Ty
Corey

·
Æternum
15,546 Posts
OK... where do I begin?

Congrats on the bugeye! They are great cars and really a cinch to work on compared to the newer models.

Let's try to figure out exactly what mods you have...