Learning to drive a manual
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Learning to drive a manual within the Tutorials & DIY forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I wasn't sure where to stick this post. I'm a noob at car forums. So up until 6 days ago ...

Learning to drive a manual

I wasn't sure where to stick this post. I'm a noob at car forums.

So up until 6 days ago when I bought my WRX, I didn't know the first thing about driving a manual. I think I've done fairly well so far. I've tried to look up tips on how to be better and what not to do but I'm getting conflicting results. For example, can I just park it with my emergency brake up or do I need to also put it in first after I turn the car off? Can I coast in neutral with the clutch in and tapping my brakes? Someone also told me I don't have to put the clutch all the way down when shifting, just to the catch point while another said always put the clutch to the floor before you shift. I obviously want to treat my car right and don't want to pick up any bad habits when it comes to driving. A new clutch was installed at the dealership before I bought it.
    Can someone clarify? Also, if there's anything I absolutely shouldn't do, that would be great, too. Thanks in advance!

Sent from space using Tapatalk

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    I always use my eBrake as the main parking brake, with the transmission as a "backup" (if the front end is up, 1; if the rear end is up, R).

I don't coast to a stop in neutral; the car is always in gear. If the car is in neutral, though, I would release the clutch, personally.

I always have been a "to the floor" clutch operator. You don't need to be, though, as long as it's past the catch point.
    2005 WRX STi (Mods | Virtual Dyno)

Resident Tuner @ WTF Tuning, LLC

"Never trust anything that bleeds for a week and lives ..."

UNYSOC