06 wrx brake change questions(4)

This is a discussion on 06 wrx brake change questions(4) within the Tutorials & DIY forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; my 06 wrx has stock front brake pads on it. i am changing them to hawk hps and my question ...

06 wrx brake change questions(4)

my 06 wrx has stock front brake pads on it. i am changing them to hawk hps and my question is do i need to replace the shims and pin retainer springs as well, new ones did not come with the pads?

what brake fluid upgrade is compatable with stock fluid when changing brake fluid?

when resurfacing youe rotors what is the min thickness before replacement and i heard after cutting the rotor you re-cut the rotor in reverse("reverse swirll") to gain better pad seating?

any help would be great.. im a noob appreciate everything

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by gareeyn1chols View Post
    my 06 wrx has stock front brake pads on it. i am changing them to hawk hps and my question is do i need to replace the shims and pin retainer springs as well, new ones did not come with the pads?
    You don't need to replace the shims as long as none are missing. Some people might have a different opinion but I have never had a problem. If you are not going to replace them I would say you should clean and re-grease everything.

what brake fluid upgrade is compatable with stock fluid when changing brake fluid?
    You can use stock fluid or most DOT 3 unless you want to flush the system and go to a DOT 4 fluid

when resurfacing youe rotors what is the min thickness before replacement and i heard after cutting the rotor you re-cut the rotor in reverse("reverse swirll") to gain better pad seating?