Tuning software question for 2015 Launch
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Tuning software question for 2015 Launch within the Tuning: Electronic Engine Management forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I am new to owning a Subaru. Had a chance to buy the new Launch STI so here I am! ...

Tuning software question for 2015 Launch

I am new to owning a Subaru. Had a chance to buy the new Launch STI so here I am! Currently I run only a stage 1 mods package with Perrin CBE with a Cobb V3 port. I will be doing more work soon that will best be handled by custom tuning. Unfortunately living in Scranton PA doea not place me in a good location.

My questions are,
    1. What are the differences regarding the Cobb Pro Access tuner and the Race model? (The first is apparently available for authorized Cobb dealers. The Cobb access tuner Race software is available to anyone. )
    The price listed on the site for that said free?

2. What is the difference between them as far as what can be accomplished, and is it worth getting? (I am a Surgeon by trade. I am not a computer wiz and i am not an amatuer mechanic nor a programer. )

3. What is the learning curve for attempting custom tunes? ( I will be installing an aftermarket DP with HFCBE. 1000cc FI and new pump. Otherwise stock engine and turbo. May replace the intercooler. Intake is done and I have preloaded map. A/F 0 to -2.5 thru all RPM/boost 20.1. )

4. Would removing my ECU and sending it out be worthwhile? (Since I already have V3 port that seems counterintuitive to me.).

5. Is there any alternative for completing a quality custom tune without having the car physically hooked to a dyno? i.e send out ECU?

6. And lastly, how would buying the access race softwear be advantagous without physical dyno. I have learned that readings are poor at best when using simple plug in and go dyno mapping. For example I read from 250 to 500 hp in 1st gear using my handheld.