Help with Newbie Tuning
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Help with Newbie Tuning within the Tuning: Electronic Engine Management forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I'm very new to all this, but I'm trying to understand what the car is doing and how to tune ...

Help with Newbie Tuning

I'm very new to all this, but I'm trying to understand what the car is doing and how to tune for it. I bought a 2002 WRX with the following mods:
    -EJ22T block with ACL bearings, '05 STi rods, WRX heads; few other bits.
    -VF34 turbo
    -FMIC (looks like a no-name, eBay type)
    -TurboXS BOV
    -RA gearset
    -COBB SF intake
    -ACT 6 puck and flywheel
    -Invidia up-pipe
    -Borla hush 3" cat back (I believe the entire exhaust is 3" catless, though)
    -DW300 fuel pump
    -Unknown injectors; I think they're stockers, but I'm unsure. I have some DW1300s ready to go in, but I need to get better at understanding tune, first.
    -Colorado Springs, CO (elevation ~6500'), ~70F

The guy I bought it from put on some generic tune he found just to get it all running. From what I'm seeing, it's very close to stock in most ways and different in only a few areas (like the boost target map). I don't want to post it because I don't know where he got it; I'd hate to post some tuner's hard work for free on the internet. The MAF scaling table is identical to stock, which I believe it ought not be for an SF intake. COBB says you don't need to rescale the MAF for a 2002 with an SFI, but I found an MAF table for the SF intake on ROMRaider (link) but I think I need to do the MAF hack to get my MAF to read over 300 since the table I got goes to 488.86 at 4.96v.