access port or dyno tune? Both?

This is a discussion on access port or dyno tune? Both? within the Tuning: Electronic Engine Management forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; so im new to tuner cars but i want to tune my car after i get a down pipe and ...

access port or dyno tune? Both?

so im new to tuner cars but i want to tune my car after i get a down pipe and i was curious what the best way to do it was. either just get the access port and do it my self or to take it to a professional tuner and have them dyno and tune it? or both? i was told that i could do the access port and that would be fine for a few months but soon after i would want to take it and have it put on the dyno. like i said im still learning and trying to absorb as much info as i can so any opinions would be appreciated. thank you

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    You may want to read some of the stickies in the tuning thread further down. In short an access port is around 400 and up you can get use the off the shelf maps or you can get some etunes and load them on the AP. A shop can tune it for you but they may require you to have an AP and then an additional cost of tuning it. You may want to talk to the shop and ask for prices and why you need to do. You can also go open source with a tactix cable and a laptop cheaper then an AP if you already have a laptop.
    What year is your car? Still stock?
    2012 WRB 4DR | SPT Exhaust | Short Throw | Rally Armour | WC Lathe Werks Custom TI Knob | Kartboy Bushings | Stoptech Brake Lines | JBK Elements DRL | STI HID Retrofit | XB LED Angel Eyes | GrimmSpeed Lightweight Crank Pulley

CFLip2x 2012 WRB WRX

I Support ClubWRX
    What are your goals for the car? Want just a little more power better throttle response?