Anyone have experience with the ViPEC v88?

This is a discussion on Anyone have experience with the ViPEC v88? within the Tuning: Electronic Engine Management forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I'm considering going standalone and I wanted to get people's opinions on the ViPEC unit. I'm wanting to implement complete ...

I Support ClubWRX

Anyone have experience with the ViPEC v88?

I'm considering going standalone and I wanted to get people's opinions on the ViPEC unit. I'm wanting to implement complete flex fuel capabilities, among other things.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    I have no direct personal experience with the unit.

Mike @ Innovative Tuning seems to really be the go-to guy to talk to about the unit; he's had probably the most hands-on experience with it out of any tuner I've seen. He's pretty easy to talk to, so reach out to him (http://www.innovativetuning.com/contact/) I may end up going with the V88 when I get the new motor / rotated setup in (if so, he'll be tuning the car, because of his experience). A buddy of mine has a GT30 wagon with the V88 unit, and god it was a fun car, even though it's limited by 650cc injectors.

If you do go the ViPEC route, I'd strongly urge you to try to get Mike in for a tuning trip. Nothing against Keith, but with how many cars Mike has tuned on that system, I'd feel more comfortable with him behind the laptop.
    Last edited by EJ257; 10-14-2012 at 08:54 AM.
    2005 WRX STi (Mods | Virtual Dyno)

Resident Tuner @ WTF Tuning, LLC

"Never trust anything that bleeds for a week and lives ..."

UNYSOC

I Support ClubWRX
    Yeah, I shot him an email the other day, just waiting for a response. I think they may be the only shop that offers a plug and play harness for the ViPEC that's ready to go for us (otherwise you're looking at a lot of cutting and splicing to get it hooked up).