Downshifting into 4th gear on a cold day causing issues.
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Downshifting into 4th gear on a cold day causing issues. within the Transmission & AWD forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hello, everyone this is my first time posting here and hopefully someone can help. I have a 13 WRX hatch ...

Downshifting into 4th gear on a cold day causing issues.

Hello, everyone this is my first time posting here and hopefully someone can help.

I have a 13 WRX hatch that has under 10k miles and the only mod I have made was putting in a Cobb short shifter.
    99% of the tranny works fine (about as fine as any other WRX gearbox). But we have had an abnormally cold winter here with many days between 0F and -20F. On two of these cold days I have gone out to grab lunch and on my way I will be cruising in 5th gear and attempt to downshift into 4th to slow a bit and get completely rejected. What I mean by rejected is that it feels as though I am attempting to shift into reverse while going forward. This has happened on two days a couple weeks apart, but would happen every time I attempted to downshift into 4th on my lunch break drive.

Basically I was wondering if I am the only person out there who has experienced this problem and if I am not what was wrong with it and should I be concerned?!?

Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Does it only do it when the car is cold? or does it also do it when the car is warmed up? What does it sound like? a grinding? or does it just feel like theres a wall there when ur trying to downshift?

One thing to try, the cobb ss is double adjustable. maybe you have it set too short.

Yes it was when the car was cold both times. It did it happen multiple times over the course of a ten minute drive. Also yes it was grinding when attempting to downshift.

I could raise the shifter, but I think that would be a more consistent issue.