New to WRX/Shift Points
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on New to WRX/Shift Points within the Transmission & AWD forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; About 300 miles on my '13 WRX now and just barely above 20mpg. As most of you I'm sure, I ...

New to WRX/Shift Points

About 300 miles on my '13 WRX now and just barely above 20mpg. As most of you I'm sure, I did not get this car for the mileage but wouldn't mind getting a little bit more.

Coming from a 6-speed Toyota Matrix with the 2zz under the hood (rev-limiter near 8300rpm, lift engaged at 6700) I'm new to this 'low rpm' motor. Still in the break in period, I am not shifting above 4k but find it hard; can't really even go WOT in 1st, barely in 2nd, and 3rd I can WOT a bit. I read some of you, to maximize fuel mileage, are shifting as low as 2k--mind-blowing! Maybe I'm just not used to having the TQ and HP of this vehicle so it's hard to wrap my head around shifting that low. Even at WOT though, 2k won't really have any turbo spool, where's the fun in that?!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Hello and welcome.

The fun is in owning a WRX itself and being the few and the proud! lol

Shift below 2k and your MPG will increase. Do the WOT and you will see MPG decrease. Obviously street mileage will get you worse MPG, however shifting and not WOTTING every shift will increase your MPG for sure.

The fun is also not worrying about your MPG when on the WOT You should also feel the fun in turns. The other night I received 30.6MPG with a duration of a 60 mile drive on the FWY. Its possible!

I shift around 1700k, I get some vibration towards the rear panel however it doesn't bug me much because I'm firing my music up sorta loud with windows down to hear my exhaust! No complaints here mate.

Hope this helps,

Cheers.