Vibration and Noise Starting out in 1st gear

This is a discussion on Vibration and Noise Starting out in 1st gear within the Transmission & AWD forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hello everyone, I'm new to the WRX world and new to the forum, I have done some searches on this. ...

Vibration and Noise Starting out in 1st gear

Hello everyone, I'm new to the WRX world and new to the forum, I have done some searches on this. When I start out in 1st gear I get a vibration and noise like a banging coming out from what feels like the driveshaft hump. It only happens when starting out in 1st and no other gear and not while downshifting. If I feather the clutch and play with the gas I can almost get it to go away. I went under the car and shook the heck out of everything I could think of. Nothing seems loose almost like a broken motor mount but I can feel that banging on hump. Please help. 2003 WRX.

Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Is it happening every time you put on 1st gear or just happens on start up and goes away?

my guess its the driver. used to happen to me a ton but then i figured it out. it mostly does it when its cold. i can either feather it out to get it rolling and then get off the clutch or i can just burn the clutch like crazy to pull away smooth.. i choose to lightly feather most of the time, unless when its still cold pulling out when there are cars behind me and i cant just putt putt and take my time. but yea my guess would be seat time to upgrade the driver mod. im still working on it....then will be getting a new clutch soon so have to figure it out again -__-
    Marky Mark
    2002 Stage 2.3 PSM Bugeye tuned by Matty at WTFtuning
    Bugeye Mafia #397, High Mileage Club, WTF Tuning Intern
    My bugeye build
    MinoskePhotography
    First Mods and other useful info!
    GM EBCS/ Hallman MBC Hybrid boost setup diagram