Perfect Shifts....
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Perfect Shifts.... within the Transmission & AWD forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; How many perfect shifts would you say you have on average? Ive been driving my 09' wrx now for a ...

Banned

Perfect Shifts....

How many perfect shifts would you say you have on average? Ive been driving my 09' wrx now for a couple years, some days I'll be on point but some days I'm off a bit.

This was my first manual car, and i have improved a lot over time, but I would say 50% of my shifts are perfect, the others arent bad. I seem to have the most trouble going from 1st to second. I was wondering what your experiences were, am i the only one, or are these cars more difficult than others to achieve perfect shifts?

Thanks guys, Im new here

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

What do you consider a perfect shift?
    - Will
    First Mods: What to do and what not to do
    Current Car: 2014 Golf TDI
    Previous Cars:2012 WRB WRX Hatch, 2004 RSX-S, 1998 Grand Prix GTP
    "Isn't it amazing how smart you feel when you just aren't being stupid?"

Perfect shifting as is the seemless right?
    Don't feel too bad. The thing about our 5speeds is that 1st is wayyyy to short and 2nd is wayyyy to tall, it's been covered a bit.

Slow it down, I let the clutch slip just a bit more when going to 2nd when I have passengers. clutch hates it, but i get praises because of it.

Sent from my DROID2 Global using Tapatalk 2

Banned
    Ok, that makes sense. 2-3-4-5 are a lot easier to get a smooth shift. Yes by perfect I ment seemless, when you cant feel it at all, no jerking motion.

If you feel like focusing all the time and know the basics of rev-matching, it's not too hard.

That said, especially when I'm driving on my own, I don't. So my shifts are not "perfect" very often haha. I do always rev-match on down shifts though.
    - Will