Perfect shifting?
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Perfect shifting? within the Transmission & AWD forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Okay so im new to driving a manual car.. im wonder when i should be shifting? i have the 04 ...

Perfect shifting?

Okay so im new to driving a manual car.. im wonder when i should be shifting? i have the 04 wrx and i feel like theres a really long 1st gear.. etc 20-30 km?

so my opinion is i shift like this
    1st - 2nd at 30 km
    2-3rd at 80 km
    3-4rd at 120 km

hows this sound so i dont blow my tranny or clutch

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Should be going off RPM I would think. Otherwise it'd depend on elevation changes and a bunch of other ordeals like tire size. To go from gear ratios to speed there is a calculation involving a couple things.

I'd look at RPMs instead, but I don't drive a manual.
    Quote Originally Posted by Trainrex
    He was throwing balloons filled with sulfuric acid and shrapnel at the swat team. They finally had to take him down with rubber bullets.
    2011 STi Build Log
    -Part 1 - Reading, Data Logging, and Analyzing Data
    -Part 2 - Turbocharger 101 & Basic Boost Control
    -Part 3 - EcuFlash, Experimental Defintions, and a Drive By Wire Intro

Cars completely stock. What rpms?
    When i down shift for a corner say 3-2nd it always likes bumps n **** know what o mean?

Quote Originally Posted by BRADO934 View Post
    Cars completely stock. What rpms?
    When i down shift for a corner say 3-2nd it always likes bumps n **** know what o mean?
    are you rev matching? Whenever you downshift you really should do that.

DUB
    You just need practice, practice, practice. You and the car will become better acquainted as time goes by and you wont need to think about at what speed/rpm to shift.