Shifter Set up...want mine higher!
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Shifter Set up...want mine higher! within the Transmission & AWD forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Afternoon all! as previously noted i am new to the Subaru thing...(my back round is building vintage Ford race cars ...

Question Shifter Set up...want mine higher!

Afternoon all!

as previously noted i am new to the Subaru thing...(my back round is building vintage Ford race cars and hot MG's)

I am going nuts constantly reaching down to shift! are there any kits that i can buy to get the shifter up higher? (ideal would be the top of the shifter knob would be just below the centerline of the steering wheel)

I was reading about the Cobb set up and it seems to be adjustable, but how high up can i get it? or are there any other recomendations...or am i going to have to get busy making chips to get what i want?

Thanks -

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    There is a company who has a tall shifter in testing right now. I'll see if I can find the info. The problem is that nobody really wants a tall shifter that requires a foot long throw between gears and getting something that has the height and maintains a relatively short throw isn't as easy as it seems. The company said they were having problems with the trans or something. I'll try to find the info and post it here...
    '03 WRX
    '01 2.5RS
    MODS | PICS | Dyno
    "Stuff sold by the gram is always going to be more exciting than stuff sold by the pound." - Jeremy Clarkson

I found one over at rally innovations, but i think that it is still in prototype form, i will keep looking.

the cobb shifter can be adjusted up an additional 1.5", i can make a high rise knob that would get me another 1" or so, so it might be a start

I Support ClubWRX