Question about steel wheels
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Question about steel wheels within the Suspension & Wheels forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; I am thinking about a winter set of wheels and tires for a 2014 WRX. I know our lug pattern ...

I am thinking about a winter set of wheels and tires for a 2014 WRX. I know our lug pattern is 5x100 but what is the offset minimum and maximum offset? I read our offset is 53 mm is that correct?

I posted locally about wanting a set of steel wheels. A guy said he has a set with the the lug pattern but that they are 83 mm offset. Off of a firebird. These would stick out too far wouldn't they? Looking for some help and info on what the minimum and max offset would be. I'm a wheel and tire noob.

Thanks!
    Last edited by S20002STI; 10-01-2013 at 09:27 AM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Registered User wreckingball man's Avatar
    Those will actually stick in farther than stock, not out. As far as what will fit your car, i don't know. I don't own that year.

http://www.tirerack.com/wheels/tech/...jsp?techid=101

Okay that's why I'm glad I asked, this stuff can be confusing!

Registered User wreckingball man's Avatar
    Yes, very!! Basically, It's a measurement from the center line of the wheel. Adding offset (going in the positive direction) will move the wheel inwards toward the car, subtracting offset (going in the negative direction) will move it outwards away from the car.

I guess another question I have are what vehicles will be a direct replacement?

I Support ClubWRX
    Just a suggestion: Either get yourself a nice lightweight set of summer only wheels & tires (expensive), then us the stockers as winter wheels. Or ... find a decent set of used alloys instead of steelies. I personally could not stand looking at my WRX for 4 - 5 months sitting on steelies.