Suspension Q : 2012 WRX : struts/shocks/inserts?????
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Suspension Q : 2012 WRX : struts/shocks/inserts????? within the Suspension & Wheels forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hi there I have been making small changes to my car (got it last month) and my next project is ...

Suspension Q : 2012 WRX : struts/shocks/inserts?????

Hi there

I have been making small changes to my car (got it last month) and my next project is the suspension. I'm a newbie to autocross and track but even I can tell that I need something better than stock.

My plan was to fit COBB sport lowering springs and sway bars, front and rear. I've ordered the springs, but not the sway bars yet (on backorder). A guy told me today that this will blow the OEM struts fast, so I should do struts while I'm at it, which reading the other threads seems to support. Trouble is, when it comes to struts/shocks/inserts, I am totally clueless!

My question is: What am I looking for? What do I need to get that will be a match for the COBB springs, give me good control on the track, and not knock my teeth out on the road? I need something that's largely bolt-on, because I do the work myself, and not too expensive coz I'm still recovering from buying a bunch of other stuff already.

Also, if I replace the struts/shocks/whatever do I need the sway bars? Do the sway bars make a stack of difference?

Thanks!
    Nicole

Crappy signature that I will make look pretty at some point:
    2012 WRX Premium | COBB AccessPORT v3 Stage 1 | COBB SF Intake | COBB Short Throw Shifter | COBB Sport Lowering Springs
    Member: BMWCCA (CT Chapter), National Auto Sports Assoc
    Attachment 116282
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 994888_10151946117308125_985486602_n.jpg  

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

First off that decal on your car looks awesome! Did you design that yourself?