2011 STI Tires
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on 2011 STI Tires within the Suspension & Wheels forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; We are going to get some snow tonight, so I took off the stock BBS/Dunlop wheels and put on my ...

Supporting Member mjboudreaux77's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX

2011 STI Tires

We are going to get some snow tonight, so I took off the stock BBS/Dunlop wheels and put on my Blizzak WS-70s (they drive terrible, but get good snow traction).

I have no prior experience with asymetric tires, so hopefully you guys are going to tell me this is OK.

The stock tires have just around 20K miles on them. All 4 tires are almost completely bald on the inside tread. They looked absolutely fine when just looking from the side of the car while still mounted, but when I took the wheels off, the inside tread was gone. The passenger side was a little worse than the driver side, but all 4 were really bad. I also noticed that the car would pull to the side when I was on un-even pavement (like coming off an off-ramp I would almost feel the car wobble) - again, I just figured that was part of having these really wide tires on.

Ever since the Subaru dealer rotated my tires (about 8K miles ago) and rebalanced, you could hear a pretty good hum/whine when driving on the highway. I figured they just had to be worn in again so I ignored - and it eventually got better.

Since all 4 are bad, I can't imagine I have an alignment problem.

Is this normal?
    Last edited by mjboudreaux77; 11-22-2011 at 04:21 PM. Reason: more info
    If I don't die by Thursday, I'll be roarin Friday night - Jimmy Buffett

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    I have heard that the stock Dunlops do not last more than 20k miles.I haven't hit that milestone yet.I'd imagine the wear is normal.

On my SUV I had the same issue.Stock tires were bald by 20k.
    T0ny
    2011 WRX
    2012 FXT