best brake upgrade?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on best brake upgrade? within the Suspension & Wheels forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; So I have an 02' wrx, a recent purchase, and noticed today after having to stop rather abruptly that the ...

best brake upgrade?

So I have an 02' wrx, a recent purchase, and noticed today after having to stop rather abruptly that the stopping power on this car is horrible. The pedal seemed to pulsate, fade, then the car locked up and the car got a little squirrelly....I wasn't going fast and I barely stopped in time.

So with that said, aside from a big brake upgrade, what's the best brake upgrade...better pads/cross-drilled/slotted rotors? braided brake lines? brake fluid? a combination of all of those? I'm new to these cars but not cars in general...and I've never really had to worry about brakes on a car to the point where I felt unsafe, so I've never had to upgrade. Any suggestions, experiences, information would be great...thanks in advance.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

If it was doing all that, makes me wonder if something else might need to be done such as replacing the brake fluid/bleeding the system.

Some high quality pads will always help. Hawk HPS are my choice. Then some new rotors, but only if the stock ones are really worn.

I still wonder why it felt so bad under braking.
    Scott
    Past Subies - '11 STI Limited stage 1+ and '04 STi stage 2+
    '13 Wrangler Rubicon - custom front bumper w/12k lb winch & off-road lights, skid plates, diff guards, etc.
    '04 Porsche 911 Turbo GT2 clone 600 HP/TQ
    '77 F-150 heavily modded for off-roading