Subaru WRX Forum banner

Noob questions

928 views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Mikie13 
#1 ·
Hello all I have a completely stock 05 wrx about to cross 120k miles. I love the car and want to start doing some mods but I wanted to know what do I need to do as far as internals of the engine. I'm looking at using a vf34 turbo or a fp16g, wanting atleast around 300-330 with an overall goal of about 400whp but still at a moderate budget. I have plans for fuel mods (injectors,fuel pump) TB exhaust, intake, and access port. Like the title says I'm a noob so any info or insight would be greatly helpful.

#2 ·
Do a compression/leakdown test before anything. Yes it's stock, but it has high mileage. Obviously when things are older, they may be stressed more. Adding more power will stress things even further. Yes people do add more power at this stage in the game quite frequently, but it's best to make sure your engine is healthy first. Make sure all maintenance has been done (timing belt/water pump service should have been done at 105k).

Start with Stage 2 mods (downpipe and an appopropriate tune) first. You can do that without any fuel system mods. Where as if you upgrade the turbo, you MUST do fuel system mods, and get an appropriate tune for all that as well. Drive it for a bit then figure out what you want.

400whp is a very lofty goal on an older car with only a 2.0L engine. You're looking at at least an engine swap to a EJ257 or a stroker engine (both with completely rebuilt aftermarket internals) if you really want that power...Plus...now you're looking into needing a new transmission. Keep researching.

#3 ·