Subaru WRX Forum banner

Redline

12K views 14 replies 10 participants last post by  Donkey 
#1 ·
So it happened today. I did not intentionally allow this to happen but I got a bit excited making a 90 degree turn from a dead stop. I redlined the transmission in first gear and felt the "cutoff" where the engine kind of shuts itself down to avoid doing any serious damage. Of course it scared me, Im humbled enough to admit Im still learning how to drive the WRX and am sure I am making some mistakes and being a bit hard on her. She is 2010.

Anyways, despite my one time mistake is there any damage to the motor that I should be worried about. Seems like reaching the redline and having the motor essentially shut down is a bit of a problem. Just want to know if anyone else has experienced this and suffered any real reprecussions. I know its bad and I didnt and will not do it intentionally again.

#2 ·
The car can protect itself if you redline while on the throttle. This means the motor won't over rev if you are standing on it. The only way to get the motor to over rev is if you are not on the throttle, but the car's energy is too high, that is, when you engage a gear that's too low. Then, even if the ignition is cut, the motor itself will still physically over rev.

This may make more sense later on as you become more familiar. In short, no, you didn't damage anything. Yet. Redlining isn't the best for the motor.

#3 ·