Help? Lag off the line - Just bought 02 WRX

This is a discussion on Help? Lag off the line - Just bought 02 WRX within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hi, everyone! First, I'm really new to the WRX, Turbo, and I don't know much about mods or the lingo ...

Help? Lag off the line - Just bought 02 WRX

Hi, everyone!

First, I'm really new to the WRX, Turbo, and I don't know much about mods or the lingo that goes with it, so bear with me. I've always wanted a WRX and I finally have it!

I just picked up a used 02 WRX wagon auto-trans with stock everything in Tucson, AZ. The engine and turbo were replaced (with new parts) 6000 miles ago due to a thrown rod. All work done by Subaru dealer and warrantied. The car is otherwise super-clean.

My issue (if this IS an issue): If I'm at a dead stop and I hit the gas, there is far less acceleration than compared to something like my wife's Corolla, until I get to about 4000RPM when the Turbo kicks. Even if I push it all the way to the floor, it's a pretty slow take-off. After that, it's great. Is this normal? If so, what's the quickest/cheapest upgrade(s) that will alleviate some of the lag (or is there a style to learn)? To me, it feels like starting a car off the line in second gear. Does that make sense?

Thanks in advance!

-Mike
    Last edited by DarkMallard; 07-02-2007 at 10:14 AM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Banned
    Yes this is normal.

Your turbo is basicaly not helping the engine tell about 3000rpms then it begins to spool produsing boost. There are a variety of ways to help this out the most noticable is going ot be an uppipe. Assuming you do not already have one, there is a catalitic converter in there hindering the exahust free flow into the turbo. The install is a PITA but it is the best mod ever. And would be appreiated by all owners of the car in the future.