Potential WRX Owner Seeks Info

This is a discussion on Potential WRX Owner Seeks Info within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hi. I'm a newbie seeking knowledge from the wise. I've got an opportunity to buy my friend's 2002 WRX wagon. ...

Potential WRX Owner Seeks Info

Hi. I'm a newbie seeking knowledge from the wise.

I've got an opportunity to buy my friend's 2002 WRX wagon. It's a five speed with about 60K miles on it. He's kept it in excellent condition and hasn't modified it or beat on it since he bought it. He's asking 12K for it. I've had V8s for most of my life, so I'm pretty clueless as to how many miles I can get out of the 2.0, what the known problems are and how hard it would be to fix them with a well equipped garage. Any info you guys can provide would be most appreciated.

Joe

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Greetings and welcome to the club!

The 2.0 will see at least as much service as a domestic V8. There are no real problems with the engine. The 5 speed can be an issue as they sometimes do not take abuse well. You would be best to search out the answers as there is much info to be found here.

Start here: Maintenance, service, troubleshooting, and basic repair
    Moderator for: Aftermarket Vendor & Installer Review / Detailing Forum / Engine Modifications / Exterior & Appearance
    New Member Hangout / Off Topic / Tri-State
    ScoobyDMC #003 Blobeye Syndicate #10
    2004 WRX Sedan PSM 5MT Tactrix Stage 2+ Blouch TD04 19T @ 21 psi
    Mods & Pics

Yeah, engine wise these things seem to be pretty ironclad...its the transmission IMO that is the weak spot although people will debate that....the '02-03's had clutch shudder covered under the TSB's.
    I love mine, just wish I could have more confidence in the tranny.