new to wrx

This is a discussion on new to wrx within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; i'm about to pick up a '04 rex with 20kmiles on it. i'm not new to forced induction (turbo) it's ...

new to wrx

i'm about to pick up a '04 rex with 20kmiles on it. i'm not new to forced induction (turbo) it's mainly what i've allways owned and been around. but i am new to the subaru platform, i've done some searching, maybe not much, since it's all cluttered with to much stuff. sorry about starting a new thread but this wrx comes with catbac exhaust and i'm going to do the catless up and hiflow cat dp so it will have 1 cat left on the exhaust. now with this free flowing exhaust. do i need to flash the ecu or whatever you guys do to the engine management? just for exhaust? i'm not experienced with engine management so i was wondering how all these flashes/maps/etc work. or can i get by without doing anything to the ecu if i work on the exhaust system for now?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Welcome to the club!

You will be fine without any sort of engine management since you are on a 2.0 liter, the 2.5's can have boost creep issues, you won't see much noticable gain without engine management though, when you get an EM you will notice some good gains with those mods

Lee
    94 Anthracite 6spd Supra - 9.87@147

LS2 RX7-2014 Tundra DC-GD Race Car In Progress

thanks buddy, i want to learn about EM before i mess with it. i read up on the COBB AP and i can download maps and use them but the maps they offer, for example, i didn't notice any maps for 92 octane, here in wa all i've used is 92 octance and havn't seen any 91 or 93. where can i learn about EM? or how this AP works? heh sorries

the 92 octane maps are just the same as the 91 octane maps it says so here
    (http://www.cobbtuning.com/wrx/access...2091%20oct.txt)

For use with a stock turbo, stock injectors, stock intake and a TURBOBACK