Debating on a Rex

This is a discussion on Debating on a Rex within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I have always loved the wrx and just subies in general. I have been working at a Subaru dealership for ...

Debating on a Rex

I have always loved the wrx and just subies in general. I have been working at a Subaru dealership for a few months now and everyday I drive STis and WRXs. I am a huge Toyota person but I am really thinking about getting a bugeyed WRX. I can get one for pretty much for a steal since I work at the dealership. What are some positive and negative things about a subie. I know I probably wont have the reliability and simplicity I am used to with toyota. I don't to end up regreating on buying one. Some opinions please....

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

positives: turbo, AWD, Reliabilty, exhaust sound, good interior, great driveability

Negatives: only one i can think of is tempermental ECU, not as easy ECU as other cars but if you spend the money and do it right it will kick butt

I Support ClubWRX
    Really the only con I can think of is the gearbox. I'm not talking about strength (althrough isnt the strongest) but overall it's very clanky. The tranny hates reverse, 1-2 shift is awful, and it doesnt put any confidence in the driver at all.

Other then that everything is on par for a 20 some thousand dollar car. I'm sure it will have some rattles but the car is now almost 4-5 years old so that's understandable. Good luck
    0-60 faster then your first sexual experience.
    "You've come far, and though you're far from the end
    You don't mind where you are, cause you know where you've been"

Admiral Ackbar the 1st mycologist's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    Your going to get every variety of response to this. Some (few) people have had bad experiences with the tranny, warranty service is a mixed bag, paint is weak.