Subaru WRX Forum banner

Buying a used 2014 Wrx Hatch!!

4K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  gavinp98 
#1 ·
Hi guys i'm new here! This weekend i'm driving up 5 hours away from my hometown (Chicago) to look at a 2014 wrx hatch! I already checked the buying a used car thread forum and was wondering if I can get any of your guys suggestions or experience when you guys bought your used wrx! The car has 32k miles and pretty much stock besides an exhaust and a short throw shifter. Clean carfax. I called an import shop and asked for them to do a compression test, but they told me there wasn't any point in spending money on a compression test if the car only has 32k miles! What do you guys think? I'm aware that many people abuse these cars so should I get the compression test done? Will I be alright If i just take the car to a dealership and get a used car inspection? I have basic knowledge on cars and I know what to check when buying a used car. Comments/Suggestions appreciated!;)

#2 ·
I would look around for a performance shop local to chicago that specializes in Subaru's and see if you can't take it to them for an inspection. They would be able to walk around and look for anything out of place, and they would also be able to more accurately look for signs of previous or current engine mods.

#3 ·
unfortunately won't be able to do that since time doesn't allow. I work all week and neither the seller or I won't have time. The shops are usually closed Saturday too which is my only day off. The owner also has clear coat on the rear quarter panel areas? I believe i've noticed these on the subies before but it looks pretty annoying when the car is dirty, because then the clear coat line is visible and almost looks like a scratch. Would I be able to take it off and would the paint be okay?

#4 ·
I would leave it. Mine get beat to death and I'd prefer to keep as much possible rust away from my quarter panels.