Subaru WRX Forum banner

Newbie to the WRX

1K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  SubieMike83 
#1 ·
Hello all, I'm new to the WRX just joined the site and hoping to learn what I can about the Subie. Just purchased a 17 Limited WRX. Never owned one so this is unfamiliar territory for me. Most of my pervious vehicles have been trucks and muscle cars. I've heard some good things about the WRX so I figured I would give one a shot. I took it for a test drive and was sold. Very impressed on the power, handling, and driver side room of a the car. I've done a little research on the forum and different web sites and concerned a little bit about reading there have been problems with the clutch on the 15-16 models going out from 200-24,000 miles. Anyone have any of these issues on the 17 models? I've been riding motorcycles for the past 24 years so I'm familiar with performance upgrades and tuning which is required once you start modifying. I was going to go with the STI but couldn't justify the extra 7,000 for 50 hp and I'm not planning on taking my car to the track. It's pretty much a daily driver. Between driving both of them I couldn't tell that much of a difference. I figured with a stage 2 if I decide to go that route I could get the 40-50hp and torque pretty close to the STI if I wanted.

#2 ·
You get way more than 50hp. You get a vastly improved drivetrain, and mechanical LSD.

As for the clutch. Throw out bearings are a common complaint. I'm sure there are people roasting clutches in quick fashion however there are lots and lots of folks getting a solid run out of them. I wouldn't be concerned unless it's your first manual vehicle. It is more common for a newbie to torch it than someone with experience.