New WRX engine failure advice
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on New WRX engine failure advice within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hi everybody. I have a 2014 WRX that has just under 15,000 miles. My engine failed and required a tow ...

New WRX engine failure advice

Hi everybody. I have a 2014 WRX that has just under 15,000 miles. My engine failed and required a tow to the dealership.
    They said my #3 cylinder did not receive enough oil and caused a significant amount of damage. I'm far from a mechanic and am looking for advice. They are replacing the entire short block. I don't drive the car hard and am puzzled. Should I keep the car? I've lost some confidence in its reliability and am concerned about its durability after the original engine components have been altered.
    Thanks in advance for your input.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    This is just a factory defect. You, unluckily so, happen to be part of the extraordinarily small percentage of devastating factory defects. I would keep it. Consider it a fresh start from Subaru! The rebuild they do should be of pretty good quality. However, if you want to go though the hassle of selling this car after they rebuild it and get another one that was exactly the same or even a different car then that is all up to you. These are fairly reliable cars when not extremely modded and there is no reason this second motor shouldn't last. But again, the decision is yours to make in the end. If you don't feel it is reliable then sell it and get something different.
    2011 WRB WRX Sedan - Q300, Invidia Catted Downpipe, Cobb RAM Intake w/Box, Tuned buy Turn in Concepts
    Stink-Eye Mob #696
    Build Thread
    Facebook
    @billym14

Just like with any mass quantity manufactured item, a car can be prone to defects just the same as your XBox or Coffee Maker.