New owner of 2014 WRX DGM Premium Sedan....have questions for little mods

This is a discussion on New owner of 2014 WRX DGM Premium Sedan....have questions for little mods within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey guys, I am new to the subaru forums as I just got my 14' WRX in February. I had ...

New owner of 2014 WRX DGM Premium Sedan....have questions for little mods

Hey guys, I am new to the subaru forums as I just got my 14' WRX in February. I had a daily driver of a pontiac grand prix that i took great care of. I certainly didn't need to sell it, but I had the car for 8 years and got bored of it....wanted something different. I was in my friend's 12' WRX hatchback and I was extremely impressed with all the amenities it had with functional body panels and such.

Over the winter I was just thinking over and over about a wrx. time came and I test drove a wagon and the sedan model right after each other to get a feel for what I liked better. I drove the sedan model first that actually came with the short throw shifter. I am going down the streets, giving it a spirited drive and i instantly fell in love with it. I loved how it handled, accelerated, etc. I then drove the wagon model after and I equally loved it, however for work I need to have more trunk space and I think for me it's more my style to be in a car.

I have had the car a few months and I wanted to buy some things to make it perform better, but i am worried of throwing a check engine light as i am driving. My main focus for when i got the car was to treat it as a daily driver with little mods to not void my 7 year warranty or have internal/electrical code problems with the car. My plan is to change out the head unit to the Pioneer NEX 6000 touch screen with satellite radio next month for my birthday and hopefully throw some performance mods on the car to make a little more power.