Hello from Chicago

This is a discussion on Hello from Chicago within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hello all, I'm from Chicago and I'm looking to become a Subaru owner soon. A little background. I'm a car ...

Hello from Chicago

Hello all, I'm from Chicago and I'm looking to become a Subaru owner soon.

A little background. I'm a car enthusiast and currently own an '07 Mazda 3 hatchback (5MT). I've long been a fan of Subaru, in fact the WRX was on my shortlist at the time I bought the Mazda but ultimately I went with the more fuel-efficient option.

Recently, however, after our latest nasty Chicago winter I decided I've had enough and I need an AWD car with an auto transmission. Why auto? Because even though I enjoy swapping my own gears (I've been driving manual for 15 years), Chicago traffic is incredibly frustrating and I'm sick and tired of going in 1st-2nd gear for miles on end on my daily commute. There's simply no joy in that.

So I've been searching for: 1) a fun car 2) with AWD 3) with an auto transmission 4) preferably turbo. I narrowed it down to the 2015 Subaru WRX with the CVT. I know that a CVT is not the ideal performance car transmission but so far the reviews have been very positive. I've sat in a 2015 WRX at the Chicago Auto Show and I really liked what I saw. Hopefully I'll get the chance to drive one soon.

I also considered a 2015 Audi A3 but dismissed it after assessing the costs and pitfalls of owning a German luxury car.

So here I am, trying to find out more about Subaru before I become an owner myself.

(FYI I've posted this same introduction on another Subaru forum)

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

welcome! pics and vids of the new WRX!
    Marky Mark
    2002 Stage 2.3 PSM Bugeye tuned by Matty at WTFtuning
    Bugeye Mafia #397, High Mileage Club, WTF Tuning Intern
    My bugeye build
    MinoskePhotography
    First Mods and other useful info!