Please I need HELP!!!
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Please I need HELP!!! within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey everyone whoever is reading this post, I am new to all these forums so I would really be thankful ...

Exclamation Please I need HELP!!!

Hey everyone whoever is reading this post, I am new to all these forums so I would really be thankful for all your advice tips and help!

I have a 2009 Subaru wrx STi with 34k miles. So recently I have been driving on the freeway, and out of nowhere I started getting knocking. I loked it up and some people say it called Rod Knocking. I proceeded to keep driving home but 5 minutes later my car shut off on me just like that. It still cranks but doesn't start . Yes I have oil in tack. Please help what I can do? Thank you

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Is your car showing a CEL if you have an access port you can see what the codes are right now? Are their any modifications to the car?
    2012 DGM WRX - Stage Two 93 - Stink Eye Mob #908
    The Epic Life of Emily the WRX

I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    What do you mean by "knock"? Like your ECU was registering knock events.. or are you saying your engine started making a banging noise? If you had rod knock, then you should have shut the engine off the second you heard a noise and trailered it to a shop.

What is "oil in tack"?

If you spun a rod bearing, then continued to drive, your engine is probably toast and non much salvageable. First thing I would do is drain the oil and look for any bearing material in the oil.. and cut open the filter and look in there too. If there's metal in your oil and filter, then I would say it's safe to assume the engine is trash.

Assuming your car is all stock (you didn't mention any mods), then just take it in and have the dealership replace your engine under warranty.