New old guy 2013 wrx first timer turbo question
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on New old guy 2013 wrx first timer turbo question within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Newbe here. 58 and have never owned a sports car with a turbo, last one was 1982 with Z28 before ...

New old guy 2013 wrx first timer turbo question

Newbe here. 58 and have never owned a sports car with a turbo, last one was 1982 with Z28 before that 1967 GTO.
    My question is if it is typical for the turbo not to kick in till about 4k (any gear) I will start out smoothly and quickly accelerate (pedal down) but no boost till about 4k then jumps out like crazy. If I am turning and it happens to kick in in the middle I have a fun ride holding on around the turn. Since I have no experience with turbo thought I would inquire. I have read about turbo lag etc but is that what it is and is it normal? Can get around by keeping rpm up initially and throughout but...

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Yes, that is normal. Full boost is set to around 3.5k-3.8k RPMs I think.
    GTA:O ClubWRX Crew

My "Build" Thread!

2006 WRX TR
    Hawk-Eye Alliance #1856...ssshhh don't tell anyone!

Yep. It's normal. Boost begins to build around 2500rpm...and you won't see full boost til 3500 or so as Foxy above said. Driving a turbo powerband is a lot different than driving an NA power band. You will get used to it.

Welcome to the club!
    The Hawk-Eye Alliance #90|The Blobeye Syndicate #0|The Stink-Eye Mob #0|N.E.R.D. Founding Member & #3
    2012 Lightning Red WRX Sedan
    ProcessWest TMIC Cobb SF Intake w/airbox Invidia Catless Downpipe Invidia Q300 Catback Kartboy Short Shifter
    OpenSource tuned by: Matty @ WTF Tuning