Newbie From Texas

This is a discussion on Newbie From Texas within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hi there! I'm a complete newbie to Subaru but have had my 13' WRX Premium for 5 months and I'm ...

Newbie From Texas

Hi there! I'm a complete newbie to Subaru but have had my 13' WRX Premium for 5 months and I'm loving every minute I'm behind the wheel! Previously came from a Toyota Celica and this is my first turbocharged car. I've been doing tons of research to get to know my car as much as I can, as I plan to start the modding phase probably early next year sometime. Anyway, enough banter and on with the pics!

I also wanted to go ahead and get it out of the way with my question regarding gauges. I didn't opt for the factory SPT boost gauge as I've read some really poor reviews but I'm still on the fence on doing it because it would be dealer installed and I worry about botching my warranty with an aftermarket setup. Any truth to this or just talk? If I did go aftermarket, I got my eyes on a SMY Cluster and Defi/Prosport gauges.

Hope this isn't too much for an introduction thread!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Hi there nice rex man. What part of Texas are you from?

I opted for the factory SPT gauge myself and have never had any problems but this is my first turbo car too and may not know better. The only thing I have noticed is that in the Texas heat the rubber face around the outside of the gauge has adhesive that seems to be melting and dripping on the dash but it reads fine.

As for the warranty dealerships won't honor it if the part you modified causes the problem that you bring the car in for if that makes sense. So for instance a custom boost gauge wont affect a transmission problem so your warranty is still good there and so on.

Quote Originally Posted by Convictus View Post
    Hi there nice rex man. What part of Texas are you from?