The first time I drove a WRX
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on The first time I drove a WRX within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; The first time I drove a WRX was two days ago, off the dealer lot 275 miles away from home. ...

The first time I drove a WRX

The first time I drove a WRX was two days ago, off the dealer lot 275 miles away from home. I ordered this car (2013 DGM Premium 5-door) 8 weeks ago having never even sat in one before. I hadn't driven a manual transmission in 10 years. Luckily I didn't stall it as I pulled out into 55MPH traffic.

The car before this one:
    I've been driving a 2002 Trans AM WS6 as a daily driver for the past two years. It's fast and loud and practical for nothing. I love it. It corners like it's on rails. I take my 6 year old to school in it and run Continental DWS on it in the winter. Winter months can be tricky. Love is hard like that.

Why did I want AWD?
    My wife has a 2010 VW Tiguan front wheel drive. 200hp turbo 4 cylinder. Plenty of power but it's not usable in first or second gear if you really need it. Obviously the TA isn't going anywhere fast in the rain or snow. I'm talking about merging into Northern Virginia traffic, etc.

So after years of back wheel drive and front wheel drive and limited use 4wd (Xterra), I was ready for full time AWD.

Why not an STI?
    I think the STI hatches look great and sound great. For me the added performance wasn't worth the money and everything I read about the WRX said it was favorable for a daily driver not interested in going to the track.

Why the WRX?
    I was considering a Volkswagen CC or a Dodge Charger but one day early this year I saw a WRX hatch go by and I was like WTF was that? I've been hooked ever since.

Dealer experience: