Is a wrx a wise choice.

This is a discussion on Is a wrx a wise choice. within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; So the thing is I own a subi legacy cvt 2.5i great can great mpg 30+ hwy I drive 60 ...

Is a wrx a wise choice.

So the thing is I own a subi legacy cvt 2.5i great can great mpg 30+ hwy I drive 60 miles round trip to work. Sometime drive to Colorado or California to see family. My thing is I've always loved the sound, power and performance from a wrx. I want to get a wagon due to having two kids. I won't be beating it, I'm a mechanic so working on it won't be to much of a prob. But still new to subi cars so I'll be reading up before I turn wrenches. My thing is a good dd that is a thrill to drive and maybe once or twice a year take it to the local road course for some fun legally. So the questions, what's a good year and the year's to stay away from? Is the mpg that bad on the hwy in a wrx? Are parts that expensive for wrx or is it subi parts in general? Any and all advise will be helpfull thank you guys and gals.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Price wise, I'm still in sticker shock after getting used to BMW part prices. I can buy ALL THE PARTS! I also get a consistent 22 MPg around town. 'Tis my DD, and my one-way trip is 2 or 3 miles at 30mph, with one stretch up at 45. The epitome of awful city driving, second only to stop/go rush hour I suppose. I'm enjoying my '06 immensely, and the only year I've heard negative things about is 2008.

But I'm also very new to Subaru and still learning. So maybe, the 2008 model year is head and shoulders better than any others, and they're just trying to throw us off the scent.

Also, welcome!

zax
    I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    Just be aware that you will see 18-20mpg combined from the WRX.
    2015 CWP WRX STi ... But how did I get roped back into an EJ motor?!