New to WRX's, looking to buy 06-09 used, advice?

This is a discussion on New to WRX's, looking to buy 06-09 used, advice? within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey guys, I'm new to subaru's, and I'm looking to get an 06-09 WRX used. I'm no stranger to working ...

New to WRX's, looking to buy 06-09 used, advice?

Hey guys, I'm new to subaru's, and I'm looking to get an 06-09 WRX used. I'm no stranger to working on cars, I've owned 2 lifted Jeeps, a lifted Bronco, and a slammed dakota, that I installed all the suspension and exhaust, other mods etc on. I'm Just sick of terrible gas milage, and Jeeps breaking down. So I'm looking to get WRX. My price range is $16-$22k, big gap, but lower is better of course. I also don't want something with more than 50k miles on it... So I'll tell you what I know from reading, and any additional advice, corrections, insight etc is appreciated!
    06-08 have the same engine/turbo setup, with the 08 being a tad different, is this right? where 09 got a big bump in HP from a bigger turbo. So an 09 is more desirable
    06-07 same suspension
    08 has better suspension than 06-07, but 09 is better once again, is this right?
    All this being said, 09's seem to run $2-$4,000 more around here than 08's. Are they really that much better? $2-3k leaves a lot of $$ to mod/play with. I like the look of the 06's and 07's, but I feel like I would regret not getting something a little newer, just because I'll see newer ones, and when I eventually sell it the resale will be a tad better. 08's are a bit more plain looking but I like them a lot, especially the wagons.
    Couple more questions about the 08's
    *can I put an 09 turbo on it?
    *how do they compare handling wise to the 06-07?
    *is the 09 really worth $3000 more?
    Thanks guys

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements