Some questions before my new WRX is delivered
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Some questions before my new WRX is delivered within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I'm new to subaru, and i'm coming from a jeep background, so bare with me please. I have a few ...

Question Some questions before my new WRX is delivered

I'm new to subaru, and i'm coming from a jeep background, so bare with me please.

I have a few questions that are all over the place so I figured this was the best place to post. if not please make a suggestion on where to post!

#1- I'm coming from a 6 speed manual Jeep Wrangler and I have a feeling i'm going to miss the 65 MPH @ 1300 rpm. So, what is the largest tire diameter that will fit (without any rub) on a '13 WRX, so I can squeeze out a slightly better final gear ratio?

#2- I'm used to being able to to throw things on the top or strap things to the roll bars like my kayaks and my skis. I don't particularly like the looks of a WRX with the "Luggage racks" on top, so, i've been looking at my options. the real question is... if i don't order it with the racks, are the factory mounting brackets hidden under weather stripping or a cover like the yakima website has hinted?

#3- I'm very new to Turbos. So, other then being anal about oil changes, and minding the 1000 mile break in period, what words of advise would you give me for general/preventative maintenance?

#4- The first thing I want to do is purchase some gauges and the pillar pod (looking for boost gauge, AFR, and oil temp I think). What would you recommend i get? As far as; Analog vs. digital, one brand name vs. another, one setup easier to install then another, one gauge more important than one that i have mentioned? if so, Why?

#5- Which readings should I be wary of from these gauges? Boost over ~14.5, boost dropping off at certain rpm? AFR too lean or too rich, oil temp upper limit and normal running range?