Is this look normal??

This is a discussion on Is this look normal?? within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hi guys, Today, i opened the oil cap and I saw this built up on the inside. I am not ...

Is this look normal??

Hi guys,

Today, i opened the oil cap and I saw this built up on the inside. I am not a mechanic, so I am hoping you guys can tell me if this is normal.

Thanks in advance for your help!

COS70

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WP_20121118_002.jpg 
Views:	95 
Size:	64.1 KB 
ID:	109579

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I had another car that would get that same milky substance on the bottom of the oil cap. I mainly drove that car short distances and around town. After a few longer trips in went away. What are your driving habits? Does it disappear after a longer drive where everything is running at the full temperature for a while? If that stuff comes out during an oil change you have an issue. When I first saw it I thought I had an issue of a head gasket leaking... luckily it wasn't anything.

Good luck.

I Support ClubWRX

Is this look normal??

Not abnormal for cars driven short trips in cool and/or humid environments.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong in the broken places. Ernest Hemingway
    I lied. I cheated. I bribed men to cover the crimes of other men. I am an accessory to murder. But the most damning thing of all... I think I can live with it. And if I had to do it all over again - I would. Benjamin Sisko
    DISCLAIMER: Opinions expressed are the author's alone and are inherently worthless.

I drive a mixture of highway and local. It was idling for bit after a cold start up and that's when I checked it.

Thanks!