New WRX, and new to Manuals. Need some advice
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on New WRX, and new to Manuals. Need some advice within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; So just got my WRX last week that I had ordered a month ago. DGM, short throw, SPT exhaust, homelink. ...

New WRX, and new to Manuals. Need some advice

So just got my WRX last week that I had ordered a month ago. DGM, short throw, SPT exhaust, homelink.

This is my first time with a manual car. I got the hang of it pretty well, didnt stall once in my first ride around town. But my hands were sweating everytime I was at a red light waiting for green thinking i would stall.

I go for another ride later in the afternoon. This time as im approaching a red and slowing down, im in neutral now, I havent come to a complete stop yet 5mph and the light turns green. And Im not entirely sure what I did. But I put it in gear and the car starts jumping back and forth hard and I stall I Dont even know if I put in 2nd or 4th, could 2nd cause this? Or did I accidentally put in 4th and bog down the engine?

Question- When slowing down to make a turn, lets say im in 4th. Do you downshift to 3 then 2 depending how slow you are going. Or do you throw it neutral, and then put it back in gear when you have to accelerate again. Which I failed at that time.

Also some people say only put in 1st if you are at a complete stop, and 2nd is fine for very slow speeds? true?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Sammich Makin' Pwincess wrxtreme06's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    Welcome. If you were going very slow and put it in 4th gear the car would've reacted. I don't see why 2nd gear would've caused it.