Boost in gears?

This is a discussion on Boost in gears? within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; This may be a complete noob question, but are there limits on how much boost there is available in the ...

Boost in gears?

This may be a complete noob question, but are there limits on how much boost there is available in the different gears?

I'm breaking mine in, and have 400+ miles on it now, but have on occasion run up to about 5lbs of boost on the gauge in 3rd, 4th, and 5th gears. Never for very long, but then I remembered something about the amount of boost being depending on the gear you are in.

I've been very careful in 1st and 2nd not to get into boost, but did not know if I should be doing things differently or if I'm doing it right.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    That's fine, just remember not to cruise at one RPM.. Boost is dependent on load, so at WOT the car will make the most boost in 5th gear, less boost in 3rd, less in 2nd, and even less in 1st.

Thanks, just wanted to make sure I was not running it too hard during break-in.

I Support ClubWRX
    For the record, in (at least the newer) models, there are per gear tables in the tune. These allow you to adjust your maximum duty cycle and target boost in each gear if done carefully.
    Quote Originally Posted by Trainrex
    He was throwing balloons filled with sulfuric acid and shrapnel at the swat team. They finally had to take him down with rubber bullets.
    2011 STi Build Log
    -Part 1 - Reading, Data Logging, and Analyzing Data
    -Part 2 - Turbocharger 101 & Basic Boost Control
    -Part 3 - EcuFlash, Experimental Defintions, and a Drive By Wire Intro

Different gears also allow for different amounts of load placed on the engine. This will affect boost. You'll see peak/highest boost possibly in 3rd gear, but especially in 4th when at WOT.