The Nooob With the Scoooob, & 06 WRX Emissions question.
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on The Nooob With the Scoooob, & 06 WRX Emissions question. within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Howdy Fellas! I've been in CO for a year now for work. Just recently bought a beautiful 06 WRX from ...

Howdy Fellas!

I've been in CO for a year now for work. Just recently bought a beautiful 06 WRX from Miami, FL. My old 4runner passed emissions, But I'm pretty sure this suby will not. I'm new to the tree hugging emission regs, hehe. My Temp tag runs out on the 9th of Nov

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Subby.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	161.6 KB 
ID:	109133

::RAMBLING:::WARNING::::RAMBLING:::::WARNING

The upgrades I know of;
    -STI Turbo
    -3" Cat back (not sure what brand)
    -Bigger fuel injectors
    -A tune (FOR 93 OCTANE IN MIAMI!!!) that's locked (EcuTek?) and stopping me from tuning for Colorado

MY CONCERN;

I've read that the Cat in the up-pipe was ditched in the 06+ model WRX. I called a local guy who says he will put a stock up pipe in for $200 to pass, then come back to remove. I don't know if it's that simple though. I read the up pipe in the 06 doesn't have a cat!

My main question is, Can I just buy a 3" universal hi-flo Cat, Have it welded on, & pass emissions??? I would rather do this than go to the shop mentioned above.

Any advice appreciated, you fellas have some beautiful cars.. Can't wait to get involved & learn more about my new ride!!

Thanks,
    Jon

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Sammich Makin' Pwincess wrxtreme06's Avatar
    I Support ClubWRX
    welcome.

i know absolutely nothing about emissions since i'm in FL, but how can they fail you for not having a catted uppipe even though its like that from the factory? are you sure you didnt fail your inspection due to a catless downpipe?

desiree
    your friendly, neighborhood subaru girl