A few quick questions before I buy...
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on A few quick questions before I buy... within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; So I'm in the market for a WRX wagon. Found one at a dealer, 03, good body, drove/shifted fine when ...

So I'm in the market for a WRX wagon. Found one at a dealer, 03, good body, drove/shifted fine when I test drove it. There were a couple things that led me to slight concern after further examination. I am not new to cars, most of my experience comes from my previously owned s14 sr (hope not to offend the great community of subi owners by that) but I am new to Subaru.

1st and foremost) The car has basically 130k miles on it. How detrimental is that high milage on the WRX? Any parts known to fail around this mileage?

2) The dealer claimed the car was bone stock, just the way it was from the factory. I instantly noticed a cobb exhaust. From what I could tell, it was 3in all the way to at least the down pipe. It also has what appear to be 17in OZ rims, classy if you ask me. These generally aren't mods that one does for the fuel efficiency which leads me to believe that the person before me was probably hard on it. Once again, assuming that the car wasn't babied, what should I look out for before I buy it, some signs that a nissan guy wouldn't notice but y'all might?

3) Price. Dealer is asking $10,900 and admitted the price to be negotiable. I thought I would ask for $8,500 and hopefully settle around $9,500? I know its difficult to give advice on price with the minimal knowledge given, I'll post a link to cars.com, where I found it. But my god please don't go buy this out from under me. I've been looking for months. These cars are not very popular in Baton Rouge.

Car: 2003 Subaru Impreza WRX, $10,980 - Cars.com