I just bought an 02 wrx, and have a problem with cylinder misfire's, What should i do

This is a discussion on I just bought an 02 wrx, and have a problem with cylinder misfire's, What should i do within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey guys im new to everything subaru, I just bought a pretty nice bugeye its an amazing car but im ...

I just bought an 02 wrx, and have a problem with cylinder misfire's, What should i do

Hey guys im new to everything subaru, I just bought a pretty nice bugeye its an amazing car but im already having trouble with cylinder misfire's, I dont want to dump money into parts i dont need. What should i look for?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    first, hello and welcome to the site!

you mentioned misfire"s", are more than 1 cylinders misfiring? have you pulled a code? how much do you know about the vehicles service history or previous owner(s)? did it used to belong to an old fart who garage kept it, only drove it on weekends and was up to date on all of its service intervals or were they young, broke and stupid who tried racing everything but didnt know how to turn a wrench?

when diagnosing a car for a misfire it's important to know if its a single cylinder misfire, or if its multiple cylinders. constantly misfiring or intermittently. will it misfire at idle? under load? or WOT?

in order for a combustion in the cylinder to happen, you need Fuel, Ignition, Compression, and Air.

check for fuel pressure. if it was a lean misfire, it could be a fuel filter in need or replacing, or injectors need or cleaning or replacing.