how much do i need to learn?

This is a discussion on how much do i need to learn? within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; So I am just a poor college student who recently bought a car I fell in love with but I ...

how much do i need to learn?

So I am just a poor college student who recently bought a car I fell in love with but I don't know the first thing about cars other than some really basic knowledge. My question is how long and how did you all learn all that oh know? I would love to contribute to the threads but I can barely keep up with what everyone is talking about

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I always worked with people who really knew what they were doing. Don't just watch them, work with them. Slowly over the years I learned a lot about my last car, could take apart the entire thing front to back, except for the engine. Working on your own car with someone who knows what they're doing looking over your shoulder is the best way to do anything I think, as long as you have that friend...
    2012 WRB WRX Sedan ...
    BPanda Build
    ...On order since 5/14/2012
    ...Picked up on 6/29/2012

Learning is almost an infinite process. There's always something you won't know, and there's always somebody that will know more about certain things than you.

The best way to learn about cars is to wrench on them yourself instead of paying somebody to do it. The other thing to do is just read, read, and read all you can find. The sticky threads on this forum are a great place to start.
    Scott
    Past Subies - '11 STI Limited stage 1+ and '04 STi stage 2+
    '13 Wrangler Rubicon - custom front bumper w/12k lb winch & off-road lights, skid plates, diff guards, etc.
    '04 Porsche 911 Turbo GT2 clone 600 HP/TQ
    '77 F-150 heavily modded for off-roading

I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX