I'm a total Noob

This is a discussion on I'm a total Noob within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hello all! Looking for some advice. I have had few new cars in my life and have not driven a ...

I'm a total Noob

Hello all! Looking for some advice.

I have had few new cars in my life and have not driven a stick for 16 years. Something snapped and I bought a new 2012 Wrx (premium hatch). I wanted some guidance in two areas, if you would be so kind...

1. I did not know about the "break in procedure." On the way home from the dealership, I crested 5000 rpms a few times. I shifted at that point but really gave it the juice. How likely is that to have damaged my motor

2. I am doing well with the stick overall...except in going into first! I stall going into first gear from neutral at stop lights. How far down do I need to depress the clutch? It seems that it is disengaged well before it is all the way down. Is this true?

Thanks for any feedback!
    Last edited by EJ257; 04-06-2012 at 11:18 AM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Welcome to the site

In the future, please refrain from using profanity in thread titles.
    2005 WRX STi (Mods | Virtual Dyno)

Resident Tuner @ WTF Tuning, LLC

"Never trust anything that bleeds for a week and lives ..."

UNYSOC

I Support ClubWRX
    Quote Originally Posted by Warpiglet View Post

1. I did not know about the "break in procedure." On the way home from the dealership, I crested 5000 rpms a few times. I shifted at that point but really gave it the juice. How likely is that to have damaged my motor
    You didn't.

2. I am doing well with the stick overall...except in going into first! I stall going into first gear from neutral at stop lights. How far down do I need to depress the clutch?
    All the way down.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ