New, saying hi!
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on New, saying hi! within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hello, new to subaru and this forum. Been a long time fan of the wrx. In the last few years, ...

New, saying hi!

Hello, new to subaru and this forum. Been a long time fan of the wrx. In the last few years, been loving the new hatch design so thinking about getting myself in one (with the wife's blessing). I'm very new to wrx's so I'll be reading more than posting. But just starting this up with some basic questions.

I hear a lot of "if you can afford it, get the sti" comments. Is the difference that significant? I see the transmission and engine and some suspension pieces. But would you get a new wrx or a used sti? For example, no matter how much you mod a 3 series, it's still no M3. Just the feel is so different. Is it the same for the sti and wrx's? (No autocross, but a lot of mountain roads)

Also, I see that the inventory for new wrx's is very limited (here in los angeles, ca). Do people that get new wrx's usually order? How long does it take? I take 3 months or more?

Anyway, thanks for the help!

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Hello, the difference is less and less as time goes by, since Subaru have corrected faults in the STi and made it more like the WRX in some ways that are quite significant. In any case, drive both and decide. People do wait, how much I don't know, and why I also don't know (I'd buy another car or marque if it were me rather than wait, frankly, but that's just me).

The link in my signature has some info you may find interesting.
    WRX Info Links, Courtesy TheJ
    Man is a brute.... If you're cruel to him, he respects and fears you. If you're kind to him, he plucks your eyes out. Alexis Zorbas