New to the WRX Community

This is a discussion on New to the WRX Community within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I just recently picked up my first WRX (2012). I'm also new to learning about cars because I've always owned ...

New to the WRX Community

I just recently picked up my first WRX (2012). I'm also new to learning about cars because I've always owned beaters so I never took the time to learn about cars. I have about 800 miles on her now. I have a multitude of questions to ask the forum but I'll start with the most pressing issues for me now.

1. I need to get some winter tires and I want to drop down to 16" steelies for my winters. Any recommendations on which wheels and tires to go with if I want to be fiscally conservative on my winter set.

2. I've been reading about others having sporadic problems with shifting into 1st, 2nd and reverse. Any new thoughts on the issue? I've been kind of rough on the car because it's been a while since I've driven stick and a couple of my hot shot friends didn't listen to me when I told them to be gentle while breaking her in. Could I have done damage?

3. Any quick fixes for curb rash on the rims? Another hot shot friend tried to pull into a street spot and scraped the crap out of my right front wheel.

Thanks for your help and don't be too harsh on me. I know I'm waving my noob flag pretty hard right now.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo.jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	88.9 KB 
ID:	101999

This pic is from the dealer. I'll work on getting a better one.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

First, welcome to the club and congrats on the new ride!!

Quote Originally Posted by ajh0511 View Post
    1. I need to get some winter tires and I want to drop down to 16" steelies for my winters. Any recommendations on which wheels and tires to go with if I want to be fiscally conservative on my winter set.