Bugeyes, talk to me

This is a discussion on Bugeyes, talk to me within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Just bought myself an 02 wrx. The engine is still stock the only aftermarket parts are a 3in. exhaust with ...

Bugeyes, talk to me

Just bought myself an 02 wrx. The engine is still stock the only aftermarket parts are a 3in. exhaust with a magnaflow muffler and it has some konig rims that i'll be replacing when i can get the money.

I heard that the bugeyes had some transmission problems, i never got my hands on the TSB/recall and i was wondering what exactly about the trannys were bad? I work in a shop so you can talk "tech" with me ei; synchros, input shaft, throw-out bearing, etc.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I don't know a ton about it, but I know that the 02's had the weakest tranny. I think 2nd gear is the most common to break. From everything I've ever heard though as long as you aren't putting out massive power levels or driving like a moron you should be just fine.

The tranny overall in your model and later WRXs up to 2008 aren't the strongest thing Subaru has ever made. In general, failures due to high TQ are going to be in the gears themselves, but other failures in syncros and other things are well-known.

Does the car have a tune for the exhaust? I assume when you say it's a 3 inch exhaust that means it's a full TBE. You don't need a tune for a DP in your model year, but you also won't really get much power out of the exhaust without one, just increased sound.
    Scott
    Past Subies - '11 STI Limited stage 1+ and '04 STi stage 2+
    '13 Wrangler Rubicon - custom front bumper w/12k lb winch & off-road lights, skid plates, diff guards, etc.
    '04 Porsche 911 Turbo GT2 clone 600 HP/TQ
    '77 F-150 heavily modded for off-roading