Warranty/ BOV Question
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Warranty/ BOV Question within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Recently bought my first rex (new 2011) and new member to club WRX. I was reading a PDF about the ...

I Support ClubWRX

Warranty/ BOV Question

Recently bought my first rex (new 2011) and new member to club WRX. I was reading a PDF about the warranty and it seams like anything you mod to boost performance can come back to bite you on the warranty. For most things, I'll probably just order SPT parts and have the dealership install them to avoid that but I do want to replace the BPV with the Perrin recirc BOV. I was wondering if I did that and just put the stock BPV back on when I take it in for maintenance or to have it repaired if they might notice that? Very noobish question and I am a noob so any input would be appreciated... THANKS!!
    Last edited by Romdizzle; 09-09-2011 at 09:06 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I Support ClubWRX
    Quote Originally Posted by Romdizzle View Post
    I was reading a PDF about the warranty and it seams like anything you mod to boost performance can come back to bite you on the warranty.
    If their parts fail under warranty they will fix the car.

If your imitation/aftermarket/etc. parts fail under warranty you will fix the car.

So far so good, fair is fair.

What could be questionable is if your imitation/aftermarket/etc. parts don't fail but their parts do, yet they blame your parts and won't fix the car.

When this happens, typically people post on the forums for help, and others respond citing laws and regulations and so on, stating "it can't be this way" or "it won't be this way" but at the end of the day, you have a car that won't be fixed under warranty without a battle, the dealer doesn't care either way, and all the supreme court justices on the car fora go on to other threads.