confused?? need some insight please!!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on confused?? need some insight please!! within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; I am a little new to the subaru game but why do you have to tune the car after you ...

confused?? need some insight please!!

I am a little new to the subaru game but why do you have to tune the car after you change out the stock airbox for a cobb short ram or even changing the up-pipe? just weird to me since any other car you can just slap on a cai or sri and your out driving it within 20 mins and you dont have to tune it. It seems to me your not changing anything at all and the car should be fine, im just a little confused by it all.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

The up pipe does not require a tune. The reason for the intake is that the MAF sensor calculates the volume of air going into the engine based on a sample it "sees". So if the diameter of the MAF housing changes at all, that calculation will be incorrect and will cause the car to run lean (if diameter is larger) or rich (if smaller). That's the basic idea behind tuning after an intake. Some people have different positions on whether it is required, but that's the arguement for getting tuned.
    Stink eye mob #727
    2011 WRX DGM Hatch, Protuned Stage 1

zax
    I Support ClubWRX I Support ClubWRX
    The Cobb SF intake is designed to mimic airflow characteristics of the stock airbox. In other words, you should be fine without a tune. The intakes that get you into trouble are those that are constructed from a larger-diameter (or smaller) straight tube that causes turbulence. The SF intake is designed with air-straighteners that mimic the stock airflow.

Many cars are designed with MAP sensor input. With the MAF sensor, any change of airflow across the sensor will change the dynamic of the tune.