Learning Manual on a new WRX !
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

This is a discussion on Learning Manual on a new WRX ! within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hey all i just put a deposit down on a 2011 WRX base in WRB!!! I am still learning how ...

Learning Manual on a new WRX !

Hey all i just put a deposit down on a 2011 WRX base in WRB!!! I am still learning how to drive a manual transmission. If you guys could give me any pointer my car would thank you very much so ... I'm quite excited i pick it up next week!!!

Best,
    Ray

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I was kind of in the same boat when I got my STi. I've driven stick a lot in my life but it's been about 9 years since I've done it and it's always been trucks. On my STi 1st gear is fine, just slowly release it a few times and you will find the release point. I still tend to over rev into first after a couple weeks of driving.

2nd gear is still tough for me. I tend to bounce it upon clutch release a LOT. 3rd and up is easy.

Don't bounce your clutch on a hill, use the anti roll hill assist as it is meant.

I've taught a few people how to drive stick and to start off with, I would find a driveway with a fairly steep incline. Steep enough that if you were to put the shifter in neutral you would roll back. First gear is the trickiest especially when you're on a hill. But with the new Suby's that won't be a problem anymore. I also found that Civics were the easiest cars to learn on since those transmissions can take a beating.

Good luck, you picked a hell of a car to start learning on.

Find someone you know that has an older car like a caviler and learn on that. A brand new wrx is not the best car for learning how to drive a manual.
    2012 WRX ice silver metallic
    Protuned by Agile Auto 315whp/342wtq @ 20.5psi

I Support ClubWRX