rattling deceleration noise
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on rattling deceleration noise within the New Member Hangout forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Im new to this just bought a 02 wrx stock with 70k on it and when in gear i let ...

rattling deceleration noise

Im new to this just bought a 02 wrx stock with 70k on it and when in gear i let off the gas around 2500 3000 rpms and there is a rattling noise iv been told wrx have heat sheilds and a lot of exshaust guards is it possible its that or my transmission? because the car shifts and drives great.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Any more info on where it sounds like it is coming from, front, rear, left, right?
    Contributing unsolicited, worthless opinions since 9/10...
    The project I spend all my money on.... <---- Click it

Without having much info to go on here, you could also check your exhaust hangers. A car of that age from NY probably has a loose heat shield or two however as mentioned above. You can check your exhaust manifold and up pipe shields by removing the engine undertray and crawling under there, down pipe heat shield by popping the hood. Also a heat shield just before the axle back, can't recall if there are any others in between.
    ...Rob.
    MMVI WRX - VF43 Airboy Tuned @ 3500'

the sound comes from the front

thanks il have to check those out

I noticed a rattling on mine the other day too, when I was engine braking in 3rd from 5-3k RPM. Freaked me out. I read somewhere that it's normal?

ya i heard that to i guess a lot of them have that rattle so im not to worried about it i just wanted to make sure

Mine rattled and then i found out my former shop set my ring and pinion wrong and it shredded all the teeth in my tranny
    278whp 286tq blouch 16g @ 17.5psi
    "My 02 wagon build" http://www.clubwrx.net/forums/everyd...gon-build.html
    Operation Iraqi Freedom x3
    WRX wagon MAFIA #68